Teachers Union endorses candidates for Board of Education

Mar 15, 2024

The Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County (TAAAC) is proud to announce the final candidate endorsements for the 2024 Board of Education Primary Elections finalized and endorsed by the TAAAC Representative Assembly.

  • Gloria Dent (District 1)
  • Bob Silkworth (District 2)
  • Erica McFarland (District 3)
  • Dana Schallheim (District 5)
  • Joanna Tobin (District 6)
  • Jeremy York (District 7)

TAAAC President Nicole Disney-Bates released the following statement about the candidates:

“The slate of candidates endorsed by our union have either proven track records of supporting our educators, students, and public schools or in their current roles align with the direction our union envisions for the future of public education in Anne Arundel County.

“Following the completion of a candidate questionnaire and interview with our members, these candidates have expressed clear support for collective bargaining rights, increased funding for our public schools, investments in all our students, and working with our union.

“The next term of this Board of Education will likely see challenges to our school libraries, require support for our LGBTQ+ students, and make changes to our school system dictated by the Blueprint for Maryland’s Future. This slate is the best chance for educators and students have, in collaboration with our union, to see AACPS succeed.”

TAAAC leadership would also like to express gratitude to all the candidates who took the time to complete our questionnaires and interview with us. While only one candidate per district can be chosen, we look forward to working with the individuals who are elected in November regardless of endorsement. Additionally, though our union did not make an endorsement in District 4, it was because the two candidates we interviewed had such strong alignment with our priorities that we could not choose. We hope to see both Sarah McDermott and Stephanie Mutchler move on past the primary election.


Jump to Content