Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County

2521 Riva Road, Suite L-7 - Annapolis, MD 21401 410-224-3330 - 410-841-6022 - 301-261-8309

FOUNDATION FOR EDUCATIONAL EXCELLENCE

February 14, 2024

Student Scholarship Application Information

The Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County Foundation for Educational Excellence is pleased to announce scholarships to be awarded to students in the Anne Arundel County Public School System. Nine scholarships will be one-time awards of \$500 for the first year of college. One of these nine is given by TAAAC-Retired. Eligibility for two of these scholarships: 1) the Robin Coleman Scholarship, requires a major in computer science and/or technology; 2) requires attendance at any trade school. In addition, two one-time book stipends of \$300 will be awarded in memory of Samuel and Bessie Chao.

TO QUALIFY AS AN APPLICANT, THE STUDENT MUST:

1. Be attending a College/University in September 2024.

Ken Baughman

- 2. Be graduating from an Anne Arundel County Public High School by June 2024.
- 3. File a **completed** application by 4:00 PM, **April 2, 2024.**
- 4. Include at least two letters of recommendation, but <u>not more than</u> three letters of recommendation, from a <u>member</u> of the <u>Teachers Association of Anne Arundel County</u> (TAAAC).
- 5. Not be a relative of a member of the Board of Directors of the Foundation for Educational Excellence listed below:

	Nancy Davidson	Betty M. Coleman	Jane Lunney	
6.	Include an official high school transcript through the end of the first semester of the senior year.			
7.	Submit a one typed-page essay	about themselves.		

Virginia Crespo

NOTE: Each section must be completed. Special consideration will be given to those students planning to pursue a career in education or related career. A **completed** application accompanied by letters of recommendation and transcript information must be received in the TAAAC office by 4 PM on **April 2, 2024**. Postmark is irrelevant.

Completed application	Transcript	Letter(s)
(with essay)		

Alva Sheppard-Johnson